Skip to content

Your next brunch will be…

February 9, 2009

Bob showed me the best ever idea the other day. I don’t care if it has been done before, it’s brilliant. Before I go on though, I apologise in advance if it seems like there are a lot of typos, as my T key isn’t working very well at the moment. Anyway… the photo doesn’t look amazing, as I did it in a hurry. But anyway: if you love eggs on toast, especially eggs benedict, this is perfect for you, AND you will only have one pan and a flipper thingee to wash (and maybe a plate if you decide to use one). The eggs won’t stick, and there will be NO problem flipping the egg without breaking the yolk – yes, you read that right. There is no fancy equipment you need, and it’s just as quick as frying an egg. No need to grab a toaster even. I can’t believe I’ve gone so many years without this!

egginthehole1

You need: one slice of bread per egg (or I suppose you could try two per slice), each slice must be at least toast thickness and be big enough to fit an egg in. Then you need some cooking oil or butter, some salt & pepper, and then whatever sauce you like. Pictured is some home made basil pesto I did, but whatever you like with your eggs. You can even use spicy fruit loaf and drizzle with maple syrup or something.

Basically, all you do is heat some oil or butter in a non-stick pan on medium-medium high heat. Then you make a hole in the centre of the slice of bread just large enough for the yolk to sit in comfortably (you can just do this with your hands). Once the oil is hot, put the slice down, and crack an egg into the hole. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Let cook until the underside is golden, then flip and let the other side cook until golden. Turn off heat, plate, and spread or drizzle with your favourite embellishments!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Ashlie permalink
    February 9, 2009 1:53 pm

    This is one of my favorite breakfast dishes ever. My parents used to call it Eggs in a Nest. I haven’t had this is years. Thanks for sharing!!!

  2. February 9, 2009 2:04 pm

    this looks quite awesome. never heard or thought about it. im gonna try it out soon!

  3. twospoons permalink*
    February 9, 2009 11:28 pm

    Ashlie: Aha! I thought it was something like that… I thought it was toad in a hole but apparently that’s some sort of sausage thing…?

    Jessie: Hehe, sure does. I need to bake some bread for it, as that was my flatmate’s pre-dinner-anti-hunger-antidote!

  4. February 10, 2009 1:09 pm

    I loved these as a kid, we called them eggs in a hole. The pesto looks really delicious on top!

  5. Lilly permalink
    February 10, 2009 10:39 pm

    I always called them “eggs in a basket”.

    I’ve heard about a dozen different names for these things (“toad in a hole” being the most memorable).

    They are delicious.

  6. carolyn permalink
    February 11, 2009 1:49 am

    We called them toad-in-a-hole, too! These are great for breakfast but also go very well with a cup of tomato soup :)

Stir the pot with a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,215 other followers

