Skip to content

Chocolate chip cookies – my new favourite recipe!

May 24, 2010

Who knew the secret to the tastiest chocolate chip cookies was to add healthy stuff?! I mean, these cookies aren’t like those cookies your hippie aunt baked and you noted that they were amazing…compared to baked grass, say. These are stand alone, the best chocolate chip cookies I have ever tasted. Easily. Which is odd, because it’s not that I haven’t used dark brown sugar or whole meal flour in cookies, together and separately. But somehow, this recipe works. I think it’s because it’s from a cookbook dedicated to wholegrain cooking. This seems important, because wholegrain flour, if you’ve baked with it regularly enough, can sometimes act like a completely different kind of flour altogether. This is especially the case with cakes, cookies and bread. I guess if you use enough whole wheat, then it also changes pastry too, but so far I’ve had no trouble with it, as I’ve never used more than half.

ANYWAY.

Onto the best chocolate chip cookies I’ve ever tasted in my entire life.

Credit must be given entirely to Sarah at the Blue Ridge Baker, for changing my cookie philosophy (well, some credit goes to Kim Boyce, author of Good to the Grain, which this recipe is from, and whose book I’ve added to my cookbook wishlist). I think I’ll actually use this as a base for all my cookies from now on. It is THAT amazing. Seriously. I brought half the batch (a whole ice cream container full) and despite being rather healthy sized cookies, me and my girlfriends polished them off in a night. After eating dinner. Among cheese and crackers. Yeah. Ah, if only they knew how much better these were a few minutes out of the oven! Phwoar. I just about fainted. Just…try these cookies, ok? Go out and get some wholemeal/wholegrain flour just for these cookies. Get a BIG bag of flour. And if you think you won’t ever use wholemeal flour, try my whole wheat sandwich bread from Artisan Bread in 5. It’s super simple, promise. Not like rock cakes either. Promise.

And while we’re being all awesome and whole-grainy, check this out. Awesome, right? Buahaha…random, but you have to click on it. Go on.

Ok, sorry. Ready for cookies? Thought so.

Whole grain chocolate chip cookies

  • 3 cups whole wheat/whole grain/whole meal flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 230g butter, chopped and softened
  • 1c dark brown sugar
  • 1c white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla (good stuff!)
  • 250g chopped dark chocolate*

*My favourite way to do this is to bash the hell out of your packet of dark chocolate, then chop the mega huge bits up a bit. This way you get chocolateyness distributed throughout the cookie and random huge chunks. Mmmm…huge chunks of chocolate.

Lightly grease two large baking trays, and preheat oven to 170C (340F), arranging a rack in the centre of the oven.

Beat butter and sugars together until well blended. Beat in eggs one at a time, fully incorporating after each addition. Stir in vanilla. Sift in dry ingredients and stir until just combined. Stir in chocolate.

Form 4cm (1 1/2″) wide balls of dough and place 5cm (2″) apart on the baking tray. These spread. A lot. To make 8-10cm (4″) wide cookies. So really heed this advice unless you want an excuse to have pairs of cookies at once.

Pop in the oven for 16-20 minutes. If you want chewier cookies, go for the 16 minute mark. You want them to have spread out, and JUST started forming large cracks on the top. For a crunchy cookie (well, it’ll still be chewy when warm but will crunch up later) wait a few extra minutes after the cracks appear, and let the top go a little darker. Keep rolling balls of mixture while the cookies are baking.

Cool cookies on a rack. Eat as soon as they’re not so hot that they burn your tastebuds off. Seriously. Hot, fresh cookies are why you made these babies at home!

These are perfectly fine just on their own, but I guess the next day would be pretty awesome dipped in milk.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2010 10:18 pm

    Thank you for sharing!! I’ve been looking for a good recipe for whole-wheat choc chip cookies and will be trying these very soon!

  2. May 29, 2010 6:38 am

    I made these the other day, and they are likewise my new favorite chocolate chip cookie!

  3. June 4, 2010 8:00 am

    Yeah, it’s good, very useful, thanks :)

  4. April 10, 2013 8:26 am

    Loved these!! I even forgot to put in the baking soda, and they were still amazing! Also, I did a 60/40 mix of dark and organic milk chocolate. The extra sweetness really went over well with my friends. Thanks for the recipe!!

Trackbacks

  1. the final gift & a little inspiration « De La Casa
  2. My new cookie go-to recipe, plus walnut & ginger cookies | Two Spoons

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,018 other followers

