Skip to content

Chill! Raspberry lime-ade to the rescue.

March 4, 2011

Yeah, I know I promised a post about curry, but it has been relentlessly hot in Christchurch the past few days. Plus this was way too exciting not to share asap. If you think I’m a bit gaga about citrus & almond, my eyes positively roll to the back of my head when raspberry and lime are mentioned.

It all started when I ordered a difficult-to-pronounce cocktail at Oasis, sans the vodka and replaced with lemonade. As much as I’m sure you’re mocking me right now, it was an excellent choice (especially since I was driving). Since then I have been obsessed with ordering something with raspberries, lime, mint, chambord and lemonade at any bar I (rarely) find myself at. Anyone I’ve been out with will vouch for this. Since limes and raspberries fall under the “luxury spend” category, it has taken me about half a year to finally get around to making my own raspberry and lime granita for these babies. Funky Pumpkin had the most beautiful raspberries I’ve ever laid eyes on and limes were only $9 a kilo. The base measurement was even in kilos, not 100g increments! I took this as a sign. Tonight I’ll share with some of my friends who have been digging and quite obviously deserve something refreshing and ridiculously delicious.

Here’s to all the wonderful people who have been digging or getting their hands dirty in the relief effort for Christchurch – they really deserve something like this, so share share share!

Luckily, once you’ve made the granita (the icy slushy stuff) which is super easy, making the drink is a breeze. Of course you don’t have to use raspberries, but the colour can’t be beaten for prettiness. Strawberries and lemon or lime, or peeled nectarines/peaches and lemon, or peeled mango and lime, would be wonderful. Also you can totally use frozen berries for this, I just used fresh because I found some. Fresh mint really helps though, but I only had lemon balm.

Raspberry & lime granita

makes about 1 1/2 – 2c

  • about 250g raspberries (or destalked strawberries or peeled chopped fruit)*
  • 2-3 limes or 1 medium lemon
  • 1/4c sugar
  • 1/2c water
  • optional (if you don’t have time to stir every hour): splash of chambord

*To peel nectarines and peaches, poach them for ten seconds in boiling water, remove with tongs, let cool slightly or rinse with cold water, then peel. The skins should slip off much easier.

Bring water and sugar to a boil in a small saucepan, just to dissolve the water. Set aside to cool completely (sit in a cold water bath to hurry this process). Meanwhile, mash raspberries with a potato masher in a glass or clean metal baking dish (you want the raspberries not to be too deep so they freeze quicker). If you want to remove seeds you’ll have to put them through a strainer, but I think this is just fussy. Halve and squeeze the limes/lemons thoroughly, using a fork to smush out extra juice, straight into ¬†your smushed raspberries. I like plenty of pulp, if you don’t just squeeze through a sieve.

Seriously, use the fork. Check out how clean I got this one:

Keep the squeezed lemons/limes to quarter and put in drinks later for decoration if your budget doesn’t allow for extravagant lime use. Just don’t keep em longer than 2 days.

Anyway…then mix in your cooled syrup.

Cover the baking dish with a pot lid or clingfilm or a tea towel, and freeze for an hour (or you can just leave in freezer if you add a splash of chambord). Remove from freezer, uncover, stir slightly frozen edges into the middle with a fork. Repeat this process until the whole lot is icy. Scrape into a freezer-happy container, and voila. It is now ready to use for drinks, or for a topping on your desserts. Keep in mind that it’s very intense!

Raspberry lime-aid

makes as much as you like, depending on how much granita you have!

for each glass, add:

  • a few Tablespoons granita
  • a splash of chambord if there’s none in the granita
  • enough cold lemonade to fill (use good stuff!)
  • optional: extra ice (without the ice it’s rather sweet and intense), rubbed fresh mint or lemon balm, and those squeezed limes, quartered. Or if you’re feeling extravagant, add a fresh lime/lemon quarter, squeezed into the glass. A fresh raspberry wouldn’t go amiss either.

Enjoy!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2011 8:16 am

    You’ve just reminded me that I’ve let a whole summer get by without making any granita. Hmm, there’s still a bit of time left.And $9/kg for limes!?!!! That’s about half the price of the cheapest I’ve found in Wellington lately. Looks so refreshing. Your friends totally deserve it – all the best to everyone helping with the cleanup :)

  2. March 5, 2011 11:37 am

    M: It’s funny what we consider cheap here! I read some American blogs that show how much they paid for each item and my jaw literally drops!

  3. March 7, 2011 3:15 am

    Beautiful!! I would love some! And I know my husband would go nuts over this…especially with some fresh mint in it! Can’t wait to try it! :)

  4. March 12, 2011 12:08 am

    S: Let me know if you discover any good twists on it (trackback/email/comment) :)

  5. March 17, 2011 5:04 pm

    This looks so good and I also kindof love your blog. Great layout and the food looks delicious. Though this beverage is first on my “to try” list!

    fivetdsisters.blogspot.com

  6. March 18, 2011 6:56 am

    with spring upon us, this is going to be a great pick me up for both me and my children!

  7. July 24, 2011 1:34 am

    This lime-aid is gorgeous – and sound absolutely refreshing! I wanted to let you know that I included this in my roundup of yummy Granitas!

Trackbacks

  1. Lime tart, for those who embrace tartness. «

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,264 other followers

