Skip to content

What the wonderful? Daikon, orange & lentil salad.

July 29, 2011

I don’t ordinarily re-post recipes that I haven’t really altered, but I don’t think I could have come up with this one by myself! I don’t think daikon, lentils and orange would taste that great by themselves, but the dressing with this makes it curiously great.

This salad from Scandi Foodie has also opened my eyes to the awesome potential of the daikon radish, which I previously bought to shun and pass onto my parents. They put it in stews, where it goes soft and mushy and takes on a totally different flavour. I might roast some and see how that goes (hey, it seems to work for just about anything). I had some with ponzu sauce and sashimi, and it was pretty rad. I’m particularly fond of its refreshing crunch, which is such a nice breather during winter. It’s not too spicy and aggressive if you cut it very thin (obviously you will need a very sharp knife for this, unless you want to shave it with a peeler) for eating raw, otherwise large chunks for stewing/roasting are standard.

I followed the ingredient amounts fairly loosely, although was a bit more methodical with the dressing. The only things I added were five leaves of miners lettuce for colour.

While I’m being lazy, can we all make this caramelised banana chocolate chip cake? It’s pretty damn excellent, and so easy (I mean, it uses one bowl if you sift the dry stuff over). I say this even though my topping bananas were cut a little thick and went kinda blue the next day (I think if you cut the bananas thinner – less than 1cm – and/or actually use dark brown sugar for the topping you should be fine). Plus it only uses 2 tablespoons of butter. Yet it’s moist, dense, and stays that way the next day (btw, the only reason it made it to the next day was because my amazing partner bought me an assortment of goodies from Yahagi as a treat). I halved the recipe, used one whole egg, didn’t use lemon juice, and used clearwater’s yogurt instead of sour cream and it still looked just like the cake in the picture (except for the blue bananas). While I’m ranting, clearwater’s yogurt is also great in place of buttermilk (but I would advise a bit of lemon juice to tart it up). Especially pancakes, as I’ve discovered. The batter is substantially thicker but the result is fluffier pancakes.

Currently Clickalicious

Japanese sponge @ Celestial Delish

Kiwi orange popsicles @ Desserts for Breakfast

Chocolate date truffles @ Two Steps One Step

Faux pho ga @ Dispatches From Whicomb Street <–Really excited about this blog. Just btw.

Cucumber avocado tea sandwiches with dill and mint @ Post Punk Kitchen

Dill & cottage cheese bread @ A Full Measure of Happiness

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2011 1:43 pm

    This recipe sounds cool! I’ve never tried daikon before but I love salads like this in winter – I forget to lighten up sometimes, food-wise :)

    OMG, that cake. I love Clearwater yoghurt too, it’s so delicious. We buy their 2-litre tubs which seems to suit our needs just fine. When I say “we”, I mean just two of us… *blush* it’s so easy to get through it though.

  2. July 30, 2011 6:17 pm

    H: Yeah gutted I can’t take credit! I feel like I’ve opened up a treasure trove of possibilities though, so that’s always nice.

    I try to split the 2L tubs with my parents, who always gobble it up much faster. I don’t eat much plain yogurt in winterTo be fair it’s not like it’s bad for you, and since it’s so versatile it can be easy to use up quite a bit at once.

  3. July 30, 2011 8:08 pm

    Yum! I love the burst of colours there. I always associate daikon with Japanese flavours – stewed/simmered in soy sauce & dashi, grated fresh as a condiment/topping, or pickled – but this looks good too. I must branch out and start using it for other types of cooking :)

  4. August 2, 2011 5:56 pm

    Wow, that really is an interesting combo! I love daikon pickled like my Vietnamese mother-in-law does. She serves it with everything :-)

  5. August 2, 2011 8:49 pm

    M: Yes I always associated it with Asian flavours but it’s actually quite nice in multiple ways. Would be good in a meaty wintery stew, and good in general stir fries where it loses a bit of its spiciness but retains its crunchy refreshing qualities.

    E: It’s so different pickled! I like it pickled a little sweet, but normally I do a quick pickle by letting it sit in vinaigrette before mixing it up. Tis rather strong though! Tasted very different in this salad, a bit milder on the bitterness.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,320 other followers

