Skip to content

Chocolate & peanuts, unite!

January 22, 2012

Weirdly, I recently began to crave peanut butter, something which I had long ago stashed in the “childhood overload” compartment of my brain. This salted chocolate peanut butter from The KitchenMaid definitely had something to do with it. However, being my lazy, washing-of-food-processor-adverse self, I didn’t think about it until I bought some peanut butter and cocoa. Then of course I had to try them together, with a little honey to sweeten, and this happened:

It barely looks like a spread (and ok, it’s about as easy to spread as cold butter), but it is delicious. I use it so thick it’s kind of like a car ran over a truffle on my toast. However I can feel a bit more virtuous from using honey and peanut butter made with the skins on (which is freakin’ delicious btw, if you’ve never tried it before…I used Chantal Organics). The flavour of J Friend & Co.’s kamahi honey is really nice for this, but clover or pohutukawa would be lovely too.

Granted it looks nothing like the gorgeous silky creation Lucy whipped up, but oh, does it warm my lazy, chocolate-loving bones. If using more solid/creamed honey (like I did), the mixture ends up staying together pretty well, so you could easily make them into little truffles (especially also coated in melted chocolate!). Am kind of contemplating making cookies out of this mixture too. Feel free to experiment with other nut butters too – chocolate almond & honey spread would be pretty delicious for example.

Chocolate peanut (or insert-your-favourite-nut-here) butter & honey spread

Mix equal parts salted peanut butter (smooth or crunchy, up to you, I used crunchy) and honey (or less if you want it barely-sweet), and cocoa to taste, until uniform. Use a liquid honey if you want it more spreadable, or add a little neutral (or peanut) oil.

Currently Clickalicious

Chipotle rhubarb salsa @ Naturally Ella

The most delicious marinated capsicum salad @ With Love, Mags

Roast capsicum with roast tomato and fried cauliflower @ Hungry & Frozen

Spicy Italian focaccia @ Baked By Rachel

11 Comments leave one →
  1. peasepudding permalink
    January 22, 2012 5:43 pm

    Good combo for a quick energy fix!

  2. January 22, 2012 6:08 pm

    ” I use it so thick it’s kind of like a car ran over a truffle on my toast”

    That is all kinds of awesome :p

  3. January 22, 2012 7:06 pm

    The Kiwi kid in me (who can’t stomach peanut butter) wonders if this is something that could be re-invented with vegemite… but then again I have a Canadian in the house who could be wooed with this recipe. Thanks!

  4. January 22, 2012 10:33 pm

    I am having a peanut butter renaissance after avoiding it as a child, so this is right up my alley. For some reason I’m a bit meh on chocolate covered peanuts, but chocolate plus peanut butter is amahzing.

  5. Sarah permalink
    January 23, 2012 12:43 am

    This would be so good with hazlenuts. Homemade nutella yo.

  6. January 23, 2012 5:22 am

    Chocolate and peanut butter is always a winner in my book!

  7. January 23, 2012 11:48 am

    What an inspired recipe, so bad but oh so gooood too, can’t wait to try it!

  8. 2girls10potatoes permalink
    January 23, 2012 5:23 pm

    Thanks a lot, now I need to go buy peanut butter and cocoa!!

  9. January 24, 2012 1:34 am

    I’m totally loving the idea of this made into truffles :-)

  10. January 24, 2012 5:08 pm

    What can I say with my mouth full (or type with a big nutchoklitty spoon in one hand)?
    Thanks.
    Mmmmmmmmm

  11. January 24, 2012 5:57 pm

    P: I’ll say – certainly makes me more of a morning person too hehe.

    Z: I’m glad someone appreciated that. It’s true though!

    F: Vegemite and honey?! Although Marmite apparently has more sugar in it than salt, so maybe…

    H: Yeah I’m not a snickers bar fan or anything. Somehow peanut butter tastes a lot better to me than regular peanuts too.

    S: Yeah, although hazelnut butter is pretty pricey! I would love to try crunchy hazelnut butter with chocolate though.

    R: It looks like you’re not alone! I’ve never understood the passion for peanut butter until I started to get these cravings for it!

    Th: Weeeell, it’s not too bad for you in terms of nutritional content that you get with all the energy hehe.

    2: Which I am sure will come in handy for many more things too :D

    E: It’s certainly solid enough to make truffles…although not with runny honey

    L: Haha, you are totally welcome.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,271 other followers

