Skip to content

Artichoke, radish & avocado salad

November 13, 2013

 

Salads like this make the sticky Australian summer feel almost acceptable in their intensity. It’s an excuse for me to eat bucketloads of fresh raw crisp things. Like this salad, full of lettuce from the local market and oh so thinly sliced pink radish glowing in amongst the jubilant green. A little avocado for richness, a little artichoke for interest, and…that’s it. Ok fine, I will admit I had this alongside some homemade bread and punchy cheese.

If you felt like being particularly luxurious on a non-ridiculously warm day, a little ranch, aioli or shaved parmesan would take this to new heights. If you’d like no animal derivatives in your salad, toasted seeds/nuts and a sweet balsamic dressing are your friends. Lightly salting and pepper-dusting the avocado is another option if you want to forgo the bother of dressing. Something about avocado, salt and pepper makes me weak at the knees. So simple. So good.

radish artichoke avo-1

 

Oh, and I have proof that I cannot resist the greens & pink radish combo around this time of year. It’s just too pretty, even with crappy lighting and terrible composition (proof that I am in too much of a hurry to stuff my face). Lest you think I’m a health nazi though, there’s always this (also wow…I still have that jar of truffle salt and it’s still good. It may have cost my weekly food budget as a student but boy have I made a ton of amazing things with that tiny jar).

Clickalicious right now

Chili roasted tofu with minted pomegranate relish

Warm fennel white bean dip with kale and parmesan

Black doris plum vanilla cheesecake

Riccotta stuffed peppers

Plum and basil cake

6 Comments leave one →
  1. foodesigns from the land of milk and honey permalink
    November 13, 2013 8:22 pm

    Love it ! Thank you for sharing.
    I’d like to invite you to visit my new blog (here) and my FB page (which is older).

  2. November 13, 2013 8:27 pm

    Ooh I could dive straight in, artichokes and avocados are two of my fave foods.

  3. November 14, 2013 3:20 am

    I don’t think I have ever had a radish! I assume you use canned artichokes? Mm, even with snow outside this is very enticing.

  4. November 14, 2013 6:55 am

    @Christina – pretty much, we have jarred ones though rather than canned. Radishes are great! They aren’t everyone’s cup of tea on their own, but I love them :)

  5. November 15, 2013 2:29 pm

    Reblogged this on Gluten Free Advice Perth and commented:
    A great way to start the Australian summer heat! Add some grilled salmon from the BBQ and it would be a lovely lunch by the pool, with a glass of sem sav blanc!

  6. November 15, 2013 2:30 pm

    Yum! Perfect for the Australian heat!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,034 other followers

