Skip to content

Jamie’s olive oil cake made even easier!

October 1, 2008

64 sq ft Kicthen’s recipe has been sitting in my bookmarks for a wee while now. The first time I tried I halved the recipe to make a loaf…and then forgot to use baking powder. I felt like such a failure, because I’d burnt the last cake I’d made, so this third attempt was third time YAY! And boy…this is some ridiculously delicious cake. I ran out of zests, but actually, I preferred it without. This made the cake much less time consuming (I really despise zesting). I have no 9″ cake pan so I made a big 8″ and a small loaf. I haven’t dug into the big cake yet (it’s for my Aunt who has flown over from China), but will update when I do.

The big 8″ cake was a little dry the next day but that’s probably because I overdid it a little. Next time I’d suggest lowering the temp. to 150C (300F) 30 minutes in or covering with parchment after 30-40mins.

Sorry, but I have to rant a bit about this cake. It is light and fluffy yet moist. It remains dense the next day. It uses less butter. It ends up being a stiff batter so it holds fruit like bluberries beautifully. It’s easy and requires no beater. It doesn’t use too many eggs for the amount of batter it makes. It only uses one bowl and one small saucepan in the making. The full batter recipe makes TWO CAKES O.O And of course, the taste is wonderful (although you should be using a relatively good vanilla extract. That means skipping the supermarket!!! Or at least going to a nice one like Fresh Choice or New World.

There’s the inside. Now, before I proceed with the recipe, I have to mention that I used two extra egg whites in it (leftover from Clare’s tiramisu making), so if you have some left over, by all means use it. I think it gave the crumb much more fluffiness to it. Either way is exceptionally godly I’m sure.

Adapted from thym thym‘s adaptation of Jamie Oliver’s Italy book (lol, anyone?)

Olive Oil Cake

makes 1 large 8″ round cake + small loaf OR 1 large 9″ round cake

4 large eggs at room temp (+2 egg whites if you have them!)
1 1/4 c sugar
170g unsalted butter
1/2 c olive oil (extra virgin apparently good)
1/2 c yoghurt + 1/4 c water OR 3/4 c milk (I used yoghurt)
1 tsp high quality vanilla extract
1tsp orange and/or lemon extract (alternatively, use zests of 2 fruits each if you have them)
3 c flour + 2 tsp baking powder + pinch salt
170g blueberries or other berries (approx) (do not thaw if using frozen)

Paper the bottom of a non-stick 8″ round springform cake tin and grease your loaf tin (or not if using silicone)
Put butter in a small saucepan and melt on lowest heat setting possible. While melting, whisk together the eggs and sugar in a medium/large bowl until lighter, and when left, there is a fluffy top (applies only if two whites are added).
Once butter is melted, take off heat and add oil, yoghurt, water, and extracts/zests. Pour into the eggs, and stir until sort of combined.
Sift in the flour, baking powder and salt, mixing after each cup addition. Mix well to combine and get rid of most lumps (this shouldn’t take more than a minute. Don’t overmix). Preheat oven to 170C or 350F. Scrape down the sides of the bowl and leave the mixture for 10 minutes.
If using two tins: Pour 1/3 of the batter into the cake tin, add half the blueberries, pour another 1/3 in, and top with blueberries (I used blueberry conserve and did a swirly pattern). Pour the last third into loaf tin.
If using one tin: Pour 1/2 the batter into the cake tin, add half the blueberries, pour second 1/2 of batter on top, and top with the last of the blueberries.
Bake for about an hour, taking the tin out before the large cake. It should be done once a knife inserted comes out clean. Let cook on wire rack in its tin for 10 mins before attempting to turn it out.

Stir the pot with a comment

