Skip to content

Jamie’s perfect roast chicken is…well, perfect.

December 30, 2008

Have I ever mentioned that I think Jamie Oliver is perfect? No, not just his chicken, but…think about it now. He’s not sme foddery old bloke. Plenty energetic. Uses proper butter and proper amounts of oil in his recipes. Cooks REAL FOOD, that most of us can attempt. Has gone beyond just cooking food, but has been ambitious enough to attempt the way kids eat (and thus live) through Jamie’s dinners, and the way people cook through Jamie’s Ministry of Food. Best of all, he’s not a pretentious prick about it – he’s still pretty modest, still keeps in touch with the guys who taught him so much and doesn’t pretend to know more than them. Also, the man loves gardening.

Anyway, I had to get that rant out of the way. Now, before I go on to refer you to his fantastic guides, I just want to mention that I didn’t actually TOUCH this chicken. I wasn’t eating it (I don’t actually eat chicken, but trust me when I say the smell almost made me change my mind), so the reviews are based on my hard-to-please family who always consider most roast chicken to be dry, bland, and a pain to make. Without using fiddly tinfoil, this chicken has moist breast (thanks to a joyful mistake on my part – sitting the chicken breast down), crispy skin, is packed with flavour, and makes an AMAZING gravy. Before you get skeptical about difficulty level, let me tell you that I have never roasted a chicken before, and have only seen them roasted using those ready-to-roast bag things. I nailed this first time around, so can you.

dinner1

Jamie’s guide to perfect roast chicken

My tweaks: I used sage and flat parsley and got my cousin to stuff them into the chicken cavity, then the lemon.

I sat the bird breast-side down so these didn’t dry out. If you really want crispy breast skin though, try sitting it the other way.

I splashed a few Tablespoons of water into the tray to keep things moist

Jamie’s guide to consistently fabulous gravy

My tweaks: I took out the carrots and onions and served them with the carved chicken pieces rather than mushing them up in the gravy.

Jamie’s guide to making real stock (freezable) using leftover chicken carcass

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 30, 2008 8:45 pm

    I know it’s a touch more fiddly, but if you want both crispy breast skin AND moist breasts (wow, what a thing to type), I recommend flipping the bird after about half an hour of roasting. That’s enough time for the back skin to crisp and the thighs to start really rocking while the breasts are protected from the heat, and then everything crisps on the other side when it’s flipped.

    The easiest way to flip, I’ve found, is to stick a wooden spoon in the cavity and use something (tongs, usually) to rotate the bird around the spoon, very close to the roasting pan/rack. As I say, a touch more fiddly, but best of both worlds.

Stir the pot with a comment

