Skip to content

Super simple tomato soup

June 13, 2009

I know, I’ve been failing rather miserably lately. While I may only have one exam looming (on the 22nd, too), and it’s a multi-choice exam, I know a lot of students out there are slogging it away, with barely any time for sleep, let alone making tortellini from scratch. I know, I know. This is where I make it up to you. I’m sharing my method for making tomato soup. It’s ridiculously easy and versatile, thus its one of the few things I use canned food for (that and green curries are my weak spots).

tomatosoup-1As you can see, I’ve gone a little crazy with dairy (and Adobe Lightroom*) at the moment. There was the last of my buttermilk in the soup (optional), and I got a bit happy with the Parmesan I got at Canterbury Cheesemongers. It’s such a wonderful place, by the way – it’s so nice being able to taste a sliver of whatever you’re contemplating spending over $10 a slab for!  Their recommendations have been brilliant so far. Anyway, I served this alongside some brie sliced up with home made bread rolls. In any case, this soup makes a great dip for any heading-for-staleness bread you have left.

* Yes, I did get carried away with making the red the perfect shade of hot, sexy, fiery red. Admittedly the actual soup did not hurt to look at nearly so much :P

Before I proceed, I know everyone has different methods of making their tomato soup. Share your tomato soup prowess with a comment, go on.

Quickie tomato soup

serves 2

1x400g can chopped tomatoes (preferably plain. You can use flavoured ones if you reeeaaally want to, but plain gives you more versatility. Also whole tomatoes chopped up by you are perfectly admirable)
2 stalks of celery, chopped finely (optional, but I like celery and texture in my soup)
1 onion, finely chopped
2-4 cloves garlic, finely chopped
salt & pepper to taste
dash red wine vinegar (optional)
enough water to make it soupy (to your liking)
any herbs and spices you feel like. Good ones for tomato soup:
oregano, basil, thyme (herbs – about 1/2 tsp dried each if using)
cumin, curry powder, cayenne pepper, chilli powder, (spices – about 1/4-1/2 tsp each if using)
splash of cream or buttermilk, or a dollop of greek yogurt or sour cream (optional). Creamy dips work okay too, just ensure the flavours will gel with the rest of your seasonings.
parmesan for grating on top, or a nice cheese to serve alongside bread.
butter or olive oil (approx 2 Tbs)

In a medium sized saucepan, heat oil/butter on medium heat. Add onion, celery and garlic, along with salt and pepper, herbs and spices, and cook, stirring, until the onion is slightly golden. Thrown in tomatoes, bring to a boil, and add water to bring to your desired consistency. I like mine thick, so sometimes I just throw in another can of tomatoes! Bring to a simmer, turn heat to low, and partially cover, letting slowly simmer for five minutes or so.

Uncover, taste, season further (add vinegar here if you feel the soup lacks acidity), and add your creams. Let simmer another 2 mins and serve. Grate over parmesan if using, and add another sprinkle of freshly ground black pepper, fresh herbs or a pinch of cayenne if you have them. Serve with some sort of crusty bread (if it ain’t crusty, make it crusty by toasting it first), and maybe more cheese if you’re that way inclined!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2011 6:26 pm

    Wow, this was delicious. I made it for dinner last this evening and everyone loved it. I will definitely be keeping this recipe tabbed :)

  2. June 26, 2011 8:03 pm

    L: Glad you liked it :) Thanks for letting me know how it went :D

  3. Katy Voronova permalink
    February 14, 2013 12:57 pm

    I made it just now for my dad and myself and it is delicious! I’ve been searching for an easy but yummy tomato soup recipe and I think I’ve found it! Thanks :)

  4. March 6, 2013 5:06 pm

    Just made this, tastes lovely, kids just got home and say the house smells yummy.putting with some garlic bread mm mm

Stir the pot with a comment

