Skip to content

Multilayered Russian honey cake

May 12, 2010

One of my favourite restaurants in Christchurch is Red Square, a little Russian restaurant tucked between a party pills shop with a rather expensive (but fabulous) French restaurant a few doors down. It has the charm of a place that is obviously run by someone who loves food, but probably never went to business school. Anyway, Red Square is a place with mixed reviews on its food (if you ever go, the mushroom cheese entree, beef strog and telnoe fish cakes are pretty much always winners), but I don’t think anyone can deny it does AMAZING desserts. AMAZING, I say. So far we’ve only tried the honey cake and drunk cherry chocolate cake. Both are AMAZING. Hear me?

The moment I arrived home from my first taste of honey cake I trawled the web for its recipe. Of course, all of them were in Russian, and none of them made any sense once put through google translate. Then a couple of years later we had dinner at Red Square again, finished off with honey cake, and I searched again. The AMAZING Agnieszka had finally posted an English version. The sad thing was I had no honey, little money, and little time. Not conducive to honey-cake-making.

I promised my boyfriend a honey cake for his Birthday. Trust me, you do not want to hear the groans of anticipation that issued forth. The thing is, I was just as excited. Would I fail miserably, layers askew? As it turns out, the layers were askew, but so were my tastebuds on tasting the cake. The AMAZING cake. That was made…several weeks after said boyfriend’s Birthday. I have assignments due, okay?!

So are you ready? Really? Okay. This is going to be a long process. I did mine slightly differently and I would say the thinner the layers the better, so I advocate baking 4 thickish layers (about 1cm or just over 1/3″ thick), then splitting these in half horizontally. Anyway, this is all in the directions. Oh, and if I haven’t scared you off yet, then this is actually a pretty good “first” multi-layer cake, because the cake layers come out not too soft and won’t crumble into sadness when handled. You don’t need too much special gear, and for a multilayer cake, it’s pretty simple (if you don’t believe me, google “dobos torte” – that is some craaaaazy.

And if you can’t be arsed making some and happen to live in Christchurch, Red Square is open for lunch too, so go get the cake and coffee or something. The cake is $7 a slice, but this is pretty good considering that most desserts that are that awesome would be about $15 a pop.  Sadly they are no longer open :(

Equipment needed:

  • 1 baking tray with raised edges (at least 1cm high), or brownie tin, or cake pan, at least 8″ shortest length, unless you want to spend until Christmas making this cake
  • aluminium foil
  • EDIT: Baking paper or reusable non stick baking sheets
  • weighing scales: the ratios in this cake are quite important, particularly the flour quantity. It’s also a hell of an effort, so it’s not worth screwing the batter up.
  • fridge space to fit the cake(s) and a cover if you want

Multilayered honey cake

makes one 8×8″ square cakes or two 8×4″ or one 9 or10″ round cake – depends on the size of your baking tray and how many layers you want, and how you cut the layers

Cake dough:

  • 3 large eggs
  • pinch salt
  • 220g (1c) caster sugar
  • 70g butter
  • 60g (3 Tbs) honey*
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 550g flour (EDIT: I made this with 500g and it was much softer and nicer)

* I stressed over the kind of honey, but don’t worry, this works even with non-liquid honey.

Filling:

  • 1L/kg extra thick sour cream – use the good stuff, because you’re using A LOT!
  • 170g (3/4c) caster sugar or a mixture of sugar & honey (keep in mind honey is about 1.7x sweeter than sugar)
  • otpional: 2 Tbs vanilla sugar (or 1 tsp vanilla extract)

Beat eggs, salt and sugar until pale, creamy and fluffy. Melt honey and butter over low heat setting while beating eggs. Cool slightly and mix into the egg mixture, then mix in sieved baking soda. Mix in the flour with a fork until you have a thick but soft dough. If you’re using quite solid honey, the dough will be like cookie dough. Do not despair! This is how it’s meant to turn out.

Preheat your oven to 180C (355F). EDITED to be easier: Dump half the dough onto some baking paper, pop another equal size layer of paper on top, and roll out until about 5mm thick. Don’t worry too much about it being a perfect rectangular shape.

Bake each layer for about 6-8 minutes, until it gets large swathes of honey golden brown on top (check at 5 minutes – you don’t want to burn them!). While the layer is baking you can get out another piece of paper to press out your next layer on.

Once the first layer is done, lift out gently and cool on a rack for a minute. Once the first layer is cooled a little (it should not be hot to the touch), peel the paper off. You can now use the other side of the paper for your subsequent layer. While letting cool, make the filling!

Beat the sour cream and sugars. Refrigerate while slicing the cakes.

With a very long, sharp knife, slice each cooled layer into thirds (use a ruler). Then cut the layers in half horizontally. The irregular shapes can be puzzle pieced together when you assemble.

Admire your work! These photos are before cutting in half horizontally, except the very bottom layer, which you can just about see.

Get another clean piece of foil, with a 2.5cm (1″) border for the layers. Place a layer on the foil. Remove sour cream filling from fridge. Spread the filling onto the layer. Top with another layer. Repeat, and spread the top layer too. Some filling will have oozed out the edges, just add some more filling to the sides and smooth out with a long, straight knife.

As you can see, I didn’t bother too much with making things very neat, because we’re going to top it with cake crumbs. Get those crusts you cut off, whizz them up in a food processor or place in a plastic bag and bash with a rolling pin. Sieve the crumbs over the cake. I tried being smart and did the sides of one of mine. I wouldn’t do this again, because that turned out to be the cake with finger marks on one side.

See it’s really rather pretty cake too. Now guess what? You need to pop it into your fridge for at least 12 hours. This lets the cake moisten. Buahaha, torture is so much fun.  So grab that foil border and carefully move the cake onto a chopping board that will fit in the fridge. If you don’t want to cover it and ruin its prettyness, put it on the top shelf. If you share a fridge and are eyeing the mouldy pumpkin in the corner with worry, just leave in a cool place, maybe covered with the world’s largest bowl or a box or something. I prefer not covering the cake because otherwise it can “sweat”.

Serve on its own or with a pretty swirl of liquid honey, brought to room temperature. I’m tempted to make this as little bite size cakes (not icing the sides obviously, I’m lazy remember), with only 4 layers. How cute would that be?! Very. Very pretty.

Thanks again to Agnieszka for posting this recipe in English. Her cake is a lot prettier by the way, if you really want to aspire to greatness. Despite the amount of time this takes, it will certainly be made again (much like Dorie’s tall and creamy cheesecake), especially because of the simplicity of the ingredients.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Elena permalink
    September 6, 2010 11:54 am

    This past weekend I made honey cake for my mother’s b-day. I have got so many complements! Cake was a complete knock-out. It was delicious. I am from Ukraine originally and that was much better what I had in my home country. Great recipe! Thank you

  2. September 6, 2010 7:28 pm

    Yay! Great to hear success stories :) I got the recipe here: http://atlantickitchen.blogspot.com/2010/02/multilayered-honey-cake-for-valentines.html
    So head over to the main blog page if you’re interested in other tasty treats! I have to say her photos are much more impressive too!

  3. Elena permalink
    November 19, 2010 4:18 am

    Thank you! I made filling out heavy whipped cream and part sour cream. I beat it with sugar and vanilla… it was very good too. Try it some day :)

  4. November 19, 2010 7:44 am

    Elena: Thanks for that, will try that next time as the filling is quite sour-cream-y!

  5. March 5, 2012 12:19 pm

    Oh nice! I LOVED Red Square too! So sad they are gone. And my favourite cake from there was the “pigeon’s milk cake”. I’m trying to crack that recipe, but to be honest, I haven’t tried many times… Well, in fact, I tried once, and yet to try again.

  6. March 5, 2012 12:42 pm

    I: Oh so excited to discover a new NZ food blog! I never tried the pigeon’s milk cake :( Have yet to find out what happened to them, we were so sad to discover they’d closed.

  7. Rebekah permalink
    May 7, 2012 1:31 am

    OMG I can only imagine how delicious this is. I can’t wait to try it! (I also have an obsession with all things Russian.)

  8. August 8, 2012 8:58 am

    I just got back from a Russian tea room in London and they served this cake. It tasted incredible and this looks exactly like it – I will be cooking it real soon!

  9. August 8, 2012 11:05 pm

    Remember to be patient and let it soak up the cream a little…I was impatient and the cake was still too dry

  10. August 15, 2012 1:08 am

    I gave it a try – thanks for the recipe!

    http://bigspud.co.uk/2012/08/14/russian-honey-cake/

  11. Katya permalink
    July 9, 2013 4:59 am

    You can also add 10 or 18% yogurt to your filling. I am Russian/Ukranian and we also add either canned sour cherries or prunes to the filling inside. You can too it with walnuts!

    I am making thi cake with sour cherries for my sons birthday :)

Trackbacks

  1. russian honey cake | Big Spud

Stir the pot with a comment

