Skip to content

Best of both worlds – soy and almond milk

January 16, 2011

Just to be clear, I am far too lazy to do milks from scratch without a soy milk machine – I am currently having a staycation at my parents’ who stopped using their machine yonks ago. Of course if you can be bothered doing it from scratch – blenderising, then straining, then cooking the soy milk, by all means go for it.

Since I’m not a fan of commercial soy milks, yet also not a fan of pure real soy milk, it made sense to mix soy and almond. I’ve never had the heart to buy almond milk since it’s so expensive, and making it is still quite pricey. Not to mention the things I’d much rather be doing with my almonds.

Using 2/3 soy beans and 1/3 almonds (I had roasted ones on hand, but raw would be good too) was an excellent compromise. It was far less beany than pure soy milk, but not at all almondy, so it would be great to use like regular milk for those who are cutting down on, or can’t consume, dairy. With all the protein and good stuff for you (unlike rice milk), health wise it’s a good substitute too. While the recipe I linked to suggests using the leftover ground up beans/nuts in your compost, I’m going to try it out in my bircher muesli (if you haven’t tried this way of making your muesli yet, do – easier than porridge and full of goodness!). There are a few other ways to use it too (baking, in meatballs) though if you don’t ever eat muesli.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2011 8:47 pm

    recently I’ve been into coconut milk beverage. it’s lighter than soy milk. don’t feel bad about buying you soy milk and not making it from scratch, seriously what a hassle.

  2. January 19, 2011 5:27 am

    Never tried making soy milk, and I know it would be preferable to the store bought stuff. It tends to be too processed for my tastes. Almond milk is a favorite around here, but you’re right, it gets expensive. You can always dry and grind the leftover almond pulp, and use it as flour.

  3. Andrea permalink
    January 19, 2012 12:40 pm

    How do you make Almond milk – you have mentioned the ratios but cant find what you did – do you add these to water? Thanks

  4. January 19, 2012 1:01 pm

    Hi Andrea, I linked to this post which tells you how to make soymilk from scratch, but I just used soy and almond: http://www.justhungry.com/2006/03/milking_the_soy.html

    If you’re just looking to make almond milk, it’s much easier (no cooking is required). There are instructions in this (https://twospoons.wordpress.com/2011/05/22/almonds-chocolate-cinnamon-in-a-humble-hot-chocolate/) post, but if you google there are more comprehensively illustrated guides :) If you want it super smooth I’d use multiple layers of muslin.

    Hope that helps! Let me know how it goes :)

  5. Andrea permalink
    January 19, 2012 5:05 pm

    Thanks so much Zo. Fantastic, will give making the almond milk a go.
    All the best.

  6. Yasmin Schellhase permalink
    October 31, 2012 3:29 pm

    i really love almond milk because it also imparts some supplements and trace minerals in our body. :

    Look at the most current write-up at our new blog site
    http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/vitamin-d-overdose/

  7. Val permalink
    October 29, 2013 3:37 am

    The problem with almond milk is that it does not contain much protein. That annoys me. So I have been mixing soy milk with almond milk and it tastes pretty good.

Stir the pot with a comment

