Skip to content

Macaron madness

January 28, 2011
tags:

That’s right, I succumbed.

Damn you, all my foodie friends…you know who you are.

Von and I paid a visit to the J’aime les macarons shop (if you’re in Christchurch, do visit!). My selection consisted of (from l-r, top to bottom): balsamic and raspberry, pistachio, passionfruit, black forest, vanilla bean, and salted butter caramel. It’s going to be hard to share these.

EDIT: Upon trying a slice of each (yes, I sliced them, because I was being nice and sharing), I have to say the salted butter caramel is hands down my favourite.

If you’re disappointed that this post isn’t about making macarons, do not fear: both Irina at Pastry Pal and the queen of macarons, Helene at Tartelette, have tutorials on them, full of troubleshooting tips to keep you sane.  Irina’s has some excellent step by step photos to guide you through – can’t wait to try and make some of my own!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. von permalink
    January 28, 2011 3:54 pm

    That was a quick post. I tried the chocolate one and my aunt had the coconut one and she liked it! Pretty worth the 2.50 I must say :D

  2. January 28, 2011 6:15 pm

    They are so so so good!

  3. January 29, 2011 2:12 pm

    V: Haha, I like to think $2.50 for a cookie is pretty insane actually! Not to say J’aime les macarons don’t deserve it, but sheesh!

    Z: Couldn’t agree more. My mother infuriatingly left some in the fridge…feel bad eating her share but also they’re just SITTING there!

  4. von permalink
    January 30, 2011 1:58 pm

    Hahaha, why don’t you think J’aime Les Macarons deserve it? 2.50 is quite expensive for a cookie, but like you said to your mum, its “gao ji dian xin!” lol that and $2.50 is about the standard price for a macaron.. thats how much I paid in Aus for the macaron from the French Patisserie

  5. January 30, 2011 4:38 pm

    No I said that I didn’t mean that they didn’t deserve it lol.

  6. von permalink
    February 1, 2011 1:40 am

    whoops! misread it :D

  7. February 1, 2011 8:55 am

    Dang, those look gorgeous. They’re probably long gone by now, eh?

    Thank you for the shout out, too!

  8. February 1, 2011 2:10 pm

    I: I was amazed they even lasted until the next morning really, but my Mum has a very Asian tolerance for sweet food :P

Stir the pot with a comment

