Skip to content

Throw-it-together apple cake from Eat Good 4 Life

March 27, 2011

What, another apple cake?!

Yes, because this one is for any of you who took one look at my post about applesauce cake and went “she wants me to make applesauce and cake?!” I know you’re out there! It’s okay though. This cake is still delicious, but “actually” easy – it’s a one-bowl affair, and requires no pre-cooking or peeling of apples. It’s also substantially better for you than most cakes out there. What’s not to like?

If you’re anything like me, you will have identified that there is no white flour in this, and alarm bells will be going off as your mind wanders back to that cake you made a while back which was dry and awful and overzealous on the bran. No? Ok, just me. However, this cake is different. The apples embedded in this cake will melt away any fears of dry cake. It is super soft, super moist and the wholemeal flour adds the perfect amount of richness flavour-wise. Since the amount of actual flour in this recipe is minimal, it still tastes like an apple cake, not a bran-and-is-that-apple-I-detect cake. I’m quite sure anyone who tries it won’t realise it’s actually full of good-for-them-bits. The only vice is the amount of sugar, which I actually toned down a little and still think could be reduced, but other than that, this cake is a real winner to make and eat, and also to customise. Hell, even to wash up after.

Not too good to be true apple cake

serves 8-9, makes one 9″ round cake or 8×8″ square cake

Thanks to Miryam at Eat Good 4 Life for this amazing recipe (her blog is full of genius recipes like this, so absolutely do check this out…she also has a book coming out which I can’t wait to get my hands on)

  • 1/4 c oil (I used canola)
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4c sugar (originally 1c)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3 apples, cored and thinly sliced (less than 5mm)
  • 1/2 c wholemeal/wholewheat flour (stoneground is slightly finer)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2c milk or yogurt
  • optional: juice and zest of half a lemon*

*I didn’t use zest but definitely will next time, as this was still quite a sweet cake with the reduced amount of sugar. If using lemon juice add another Tablespoon of flour.

Preheat oven to 175C (350F), with a rack centered. Grease and flour your cake tin (I forgot on two sides because I lined mine – this cake definitely wants a good greasing of the pan).

In a deep medium sized bowl beat eggs and sugar on high speed until very pale and thickened (about 2-3minutes). Beat in lemon, oil and vanilla until just combined, then fold in sifted flour & baking powder, and milk/yogurt, alternating them.

Pour about half the mixture into your baking pan, then add half the apple on an even layer. Repeat. Bake 30-50 minutes (mine took 30 in an 8″ square cake tin) until a knife inserted comes out cleanish (a few crumbs on the knife would be ideal). Cool in the pan 20-30 minutes before cutting and serving. Use a very sharp knife or the apple slices will snag.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2011 10:34 pm

    I won’t complaint about more apple cake! And the wholemeal flour sounds quite appealing, actually… not as much for the health benefits (though that too) but more for the almost-nutty flavour and texture, goes so well with autumn and apples :)

  2. March 28, 2011 10:35 pm

    er, complain not complaint. obviously I need to go to sleep! ;)

  3. March 31, 2011 3:13 am

    I don’t think I could ever risk having enough apple cake recipes!!! And I love that this one uses wholewheat…will have to give it a try…I just have some apples waiting :)

  4. April 12, 2011 11:22 pm

    FYI, you may want to change the bake time on this post. I currently have this cake in my oven and panicked a bit when I checked it at 30 minutes; after going to the link I saw that it actually needs to bake for about an hour.

    Anyhoo, I’m looking forward to having it for dessert with a dollop of freshly whipped heavy cream!

  5. April 13, 2011 10:07 am

    E: Have made a note about it. I made mine in an 8×8″ square dish and it was done in 30, so thought I’d put the lesser time so no one would burn their cake!

  6. April 14, 2011 2:17 pm

    I made mine in an 8 X 8 pan also, but as I’m living in India and have no oven I had to use a toaster oven. It took just under an hour to bake and the edges got a little browner than what I would like.

    I will definitely make this again, but will put some foil over the edges near the end. Thanks so much for posting this recipe. I’m going to poke around your blog for some more now!

  7. April 14, 2011 3:43 pm

    E: Ahh, well at least this cake is so moist a little browning won’t dry it out too much. Thanks for pointing out the baking time issue :)

    The original site I got the recipe from also has heaps of other fantastic wholemeal recipes – I think recently there was a wholemeal cream puff recipe that also uses less butter.

  8. February 20, 2012 7:44 am

    I just made this and I forgot to add the baking powder in because it doesn’t say where to put it in anywhere in the recipe. I quickly had to pour the ocntents of my pan back to the bowl to stir it in after I had layed the apples in very pretty….really fustrating

  9. February 20, 2012 10:19 am

    H: Yikes, sorry Hannah I have changed that in the directions now, thank you for pointing that out! Hopefully the cake was still yummy though…

Stir the pot with a comment

