Skip to content

Bin Inn: foodie heaven…?

March 31, 2011
tags: ,

I say …? because it’s the weirdest combination of hippie foodie supplies and cheap knick knacks (a bit like those awful $1$2$8 marts minus the costumes). However, it really does boast a huge variety of unconventional flours and bits and pieces, mostly sold in bulk. I had such a good time this visit (mostly because I was alone and no one was judging me for how long I could stare at a bunch of different flours) that I couldn’t help sharing with you my impulse buys finds of the day from my bike mission to Bin Inn:

I got incredibly excited upon spotting the Mad Millie cheese making stuff in store – it was a bit like finding a “my first computer” for foodies or something. Excitingly, they stock cheese-making stuff for vegetarians and vegans, because I also found (after gaping at everything in store for about half an hour) yeast flakes, which I freakin hope is nutritional yeast. The guy was kinda like…I think this is nutritional yeast…but he also said that about the yeast labelled “brewer’s yeast”. That said, he knew where everything was like he lived there – as in, slept and dreamed in the store. Anyway, now I have some of that elusive vegan gold, cheese-like (aka deliciousness) stuff that vegans always use in their cooking. My friend Tessa told me about it ages ago but finally… it is time for some sort of vegan carbonara (especially now that I’m sadly out of real parmesan). Any suggestions for starters? I’ve heard about cashew based ones but I really would like something that lets me taste whether I like nutritional yeast or not. It certainly smells kinda cheesy, so my hopes are actually quite high.

Exciting find #2: the sandwich box glowed out at me when I saw it. I’ve been dreaming about something like this, and never in a million years did I think someone else would beat me to inventing it and making it to sell for $2. In different colours no less.

Exciting find #3: Dried strawberries…amaaazing. Like gummy strawberry jam. If I manage to keep enough around for baking, I’d love to make strawberry and white chocolate blondies or something. They’re so freakishly addictive to just nibble though.

Exciting find #alltherestofthestuff: It was really nice to be able to get smallish affordable quantities of things like quinoa flakes and rye flakes, just to see if they worked in my bread. I have no idea why I got the kelp powder though. Perhaps it was subconsciously a consolation prize since I managed to resist the pink salt they had. Help?! At least a lot of the things at Bin Inn are quite affordable, although randomly some stuff is quite a bit more expensive than at the supermarket.

Also, random other thing I managed to get done today (I promise this blog won’t descend into “today I had some breakfast, then I went to the bathroom, etc”): got my favourite pair of winter booties into an awesome shoe and bag fixer. Was so nice to actually meet someone who not only knew what the bollocks they were doing, but gave a damn about your favourite pair. If you’re in Christchurch and you need shoe fixing, check out Footsteps, currently they are relocated at 45 Bewdley St, but their number should be 3660024. They’re also less expensive than mall shoe fixers, which is nice. Thanks to Steph for the recommendation!

One last note: I think today I finally enjoyed biking. Genuinely. It’s like the wee devil on my shoulder telling me how much head winds suck decided to go on holiday. Time (and future head winds) will tell if he returns. I think I have a secret weapon though, because I finally changed gears today without my bike falling apart. It also helped that I biked around peak traffic, so I felt ludicrously smug streaming past all the people stuck in long queues at the lights. I liked it so much I biked again for my second trip out of the house, and even falling off my bike (due to my own dumbness) mere metres from home didn’t deter me continuing. The sunset on the way home made it especially worth it. Delicious unobscured view = win.

Hope the last few days of your week also bring some perks! Even if they are just a change of perception.

Currently Clickalicious

Recently bookmarked delectables:

Cypriot semolina cake @ Kitchenist

Chocolate chip cookies @ Girl who bakes

Fallen almond pound cake @ Kitchen trial & error

GF salty chestnut and vanilla sables @ Food & scent

Lemon chiffon cake @ Babble

Vegan lasagna with harissa, pesto vegetables, and rice milk sauce @ Pease pudding

Leftover rice & mushroom cakes with herb yogurt @ The coffee break

Pea pesto crostini @ Cupcakes & cashmere

Spaetzle @ Smitten kitchen

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2011 2:57 am

    Thanks for bookmarking! I would kill for a bag of quinoa flakes … they’re impossible to find here!

  2. peasepudding permalink
    April 1, 2011 9:26 am

    Thanks for the link! What an Aladdins cave you have found. We have an Indian store we visit similar to that which has everything you ever need for Indian food and a million more things you have never heard of.

  3. April 1, 2011 11:07 am

    F: Really, where abouts are you based? If it’s somewhere in Asia I can imagine that’d be the case :(

    P: Yes Indian supermarkets are great too! We have a middle eastern place really close to us who sell all sorts of useful, but also strange and wonderful things. I want to know what one does with a fully dried lemon half! (Just googled and there is a delicious looking lemon and saffron chicken dish that sounds lovely).

  4. April 1, 2011 10:40 pm

    Nice Blog. I found you via your flourless chocolate cake. I have to make a birthday cake for a gluten free friend on Sunday. Have subscribed. Glad you are still OK in Christchurch. Love Rosie

  5. July 11, 2013 1:51 am

    hello, je suis Olympia
    Je suis agée de 33 ans !
    Mon métier: assistante dentaire ! Mon naturel est plutôt souriant.

Stir the pot with a comment

