Skip to content

The nuttiest cookies ever: coconut walnut chocolate chip brown butter cookies

April 19, 2011

That is, toasted coconut, walnuts, and chocolate chip brown butter cookies. Made with a little wholemeal flour, for extra nuttiness. Yes, these cookies are in danger of being good for you, but if you like your baking nuttalicious, then these are the cookies for you. However, they’re still crispy chewy, rich and chocolatey, with subtle caramelly notes beneath the sheer weight of all that nuttiness. The next day, they lose their crispiness but stay quite soft and still a bit chewy. I made these with the onset of a ridiculous cold, and despite how much my super sore throat does not appreciate anything grainy or baked right now, I couldn’t help sneak one away to my bedroom. You know, all for the sake of the blog, so you’d know what they tasted like the next day (almost a different cookie altogether!). In fact, I really should be trying to sleep or something right now, but boredom clearly won. It’s okay. Soon my headache will win.

Of course if you’re not that keen on nuts, you can easily omit the walnuts and coconut and you’ll have a dang easy chocolate chip recipe that still has a slight nutty flavour without any actual nuts in.

Gratuitous picture of melty chocolate: tick. I’m still a fan of Whittakers for baking, as it actually does the melting thing quite well and even the really dark chocolate doesn’t taste at all acrid. They really ought to pay me considering how much anti-Cadbury sentiment is expressed on this blog :P

One other ingredient note: as I’ve mentioned before, only use fresh walnuts, and do not buy them from the supermarket. Seriously. The oils in walnuts go rancid very quickly, so supermarket walnuts are always waaaay past their edible stage (I’ve eaten way too many a rancid walnut well before the best before date to know). When I say fresh I don’t mean straight off a tree, but just…find a walnut supplier you trust. You can use any kind of nut in these cookies, so if your walnuts are sad, then just use a different nut!

Thanks to Joy the Baker for the inspiration and original recipe (brown butter toasted coconut chocolate chip cookies).

Nuttalicious choc chip cookies

makes about 20 smallish cookies

  • 113g unsalted butter (very important that you use unsalted in this recipe, unless you want quite salty cookies)
  • 1/4c white sugar
  • 1/2c light brown sugar
  • 1 egg yolk + 1 egg (you can freeze the white for another use) or 2 egg yolks if you want your cookies more dense and chewy
  • 3/4c plain white flour
  • 1/2c wholemeal/wholegrain/wholewheat flour
  • 3/8tsp baking soda
  • pinch salt
  • 1/2c (around 100g) dark chocolate, chopped finely*
  • optional: 1/4c finely shredded coconut, and 1/4c walnuts or other favourite nut, chopped and toasted
* Aim to chop them the size of regular chocolate chips, and use a large sharp chef’s knife or cleaver. Chopping them yourself is the secret to ethereal chocolate chip cookies, because you get lots of little bits of chocolate all throughout the cookie. Once you try it you’ll never buy chips again.
Preheat oven to 175C (350F), with a rack centred. Grease two baking trays.
Once the oven is hot, scatter coconut and nut pieces on a single layer in a roasting tray and bake for 5 minutes until coconut is nice and golden. Set aside to cool.
While coconut is toasting, brown your butter by heating it in a medium sized saucepan on medium heat. First it will start to bubble – start mixing with a silicon spatula or wooden spoon, scraping the bottom constantly. Eventually it will start to foam and you’ll spy little brown flecks appearing through the foam. Remove from heat immediately and let cool until you can touch the pan without burning yourself. Stir in sugar. The mixture will be grainy.
Beat in egg yolk and egg until the mixture is uniform. Sift over flours, baking soda and salt. Mix in until just incorporated, then stir through the chocolate, walnuts and coconut. The mixture should just barely be a dough, it’s meant to be quite wet but you should be able to shape into balls with one hand. I made mine walnut sized.
Place balls 1″ apart on greased baking trays, and bake about 10-12 minutes until the edges are just starting to look darker than the tops, and cracks form on top. The centre should not spring back when poked – they will almost feel runny.
Cool on baking tray for five minutes before removing with a metal spatula to a cooling rack to cool completely.

Currently Clickalicious

Yummy scrummy in my tummy bookmarks:
Feta crumble II: Electric boogaloo @ The Second Pancake
Pistachio goat cheese stuffed dates @ In Good Taste
Chana masala @ The Second Pancake
Blue cheese butter @ The Second Pancake
15 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2011 3:28 pm

    Those sound amazing. I think anything with that long a title has to be good!

  2. April 19, 2011 3:40 pm

    Thanks for mentioning my dates! Your cookies look unbelievable – you had me at melted chocolate!

  3. Phoebe permalink
    April 19, 2011 3:57 pm

    Yum. These look amazing. Gonna try making these soon. But before that, question: can I substitute the wholemeal flour with rolled oats to give it more texture? I’m only saying that cos I don’t have any wholemeal flour. Ha.

  4. April 19, 2011 4:40 pm

    i wish i had one (or three) of those right now to have with my cup of tea …

  5. April 19, 2011 5:03 pm

    R: Haha, good thing I didn’t add anything else.

    M: You’re welcome! I can’t wait to get my hands on some dates for those appetisers, and a caramel date pie I spied.

    Ph: I think if you’ve got the quick cook oats you could easily get away with it, although you may need to add more white flour. Alternatively you could blitz the oats in a food processor to make a kind of oaty flour. Ooo that’d be good actually. Let me know how it goes!

    Pa: I wish I hadn’t had 3 of them today…my sore throat and this damn cold is really not agreeing! Oh well, nothing a mug of honeyed water can’t fix :P

  6. April 19, 2011 9:48 pm

    Awesome photo of the melty chocolate, so very tempting, they wouldnt last long in my house and there is only two of us.

  7. April 20, 2011 10:39 pm

    Ooh. So into brown butter in cookies, especially chocolate chip! Good tip on the using other kinds of nut. For some reason I can’t stop thinking macadamia… :)

  8. April 21, 2011 4:23 am

    Oh wow….wow

    This looks like the best chocolate chip cookie recipe ever. Browned butter is such a perfect addition.

  9. April 21, 2011 12:06 pm

    Millie: Yeah, brown butter really makes the world a better place. Might try doing the same flavour combo in my browned butter blondies next time as well.

    Meg: You know what’s even more awesome? No need to worry about softening the butter just right, and I just use one saucepan. So it actually turns out to be easier too!

  10. April 21, 2011 12:06 pm

    A: Wish I could eat more of them…probably a good thing I am sick or I’d eat too many >.<

  11. April 22, 2011 2:38 am

    These are going on the must bake list!

  12. Zoe permalink
    April 22, 2011 5:31 pm

    I used pecan nuts. Goes really well with the chocolate!
    I made them far too fluffy though because I used two eggs. This was already a complicated recipe for me (I struggle with one bowl three ingredient type recipes) so separating the yolks was too much effort for me, but I definitely will next time!

  13. April 22, 2011 11:05 pm

    D: Hope you enjoy them :)

    Z: Yeah pecans are marvy I’m just too poor to justify buying them. Also I seem to find it easier to find walnuts. You could actually try using one large egg and if the mixture holds together, try that. I know what you mean with separating eggs. My next cookie recipe will just involve the one egg, so look out!

  14. April 23, 2011 3:41 pm

    Yum….love nuts so loving the sound of these cookies.

  15. April 27, 2011 12:20 pm

    M: Same! Really appreciate the walnuts in these (pecans obviously would be awesome too), they’re not too hard once they’re toasted.

Stir the pot with a comment

