Skip to content

Sunday kind of love

August 7, 2011

How to coax your partner away from their computer screen without going topless: cheese.

Specifically, a cheese feast, which has become somewhat of a monthly Sunday treat. I make a loaf of bread, and when it’s bordering on warm and cool, I cut it open, crank out some yummy cheese (that we usually get at the farmers market the day before, although admittedly it’s not always local), and dust off the appropriate condiments.

This weekend I pulled out my special cheese knife my cousin brought all the way back from London. Gorgonzola met honeycomb and fig & rhubarb jam. Wish I’d had a pear but I can’t exactly complain. Gorgonzola is the one blue cheese which doesn’t make me splutter in confused agony, so for any blue cheese haters out there, think twice.

Hope you’re making the most of your weekend!

PS. Honeycomb is incredibly romantic and pretty to eat in the sun.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. peasepudding permalink
    August 7, 2011 5:50 pm

    The perfect relax Sunday treat, beautiful photo so light and spring like!

  2. August 7, 2011 8:41 pm

    Ahaha, that opening sentence made me laugh. I really like this idea, too :)

  3. August 8, 2011 7:12 am

    Fig jam with gorgonzola is a fantastic combo. The bread looks fantastic!

  4. August 8, 2011 7:38 am

    I’d have to do this. Going topless doesn’t win me points. Ha, I couldn’t resist. Am loving figs with fancy cheese these days!

  5. August 8, 2011 12:20 pm

    P: I’ve discovered a new spot for day time shooting, which should also be good for nights with my speedlight. So excited about the possibilities!

    H: Am considering a bread and butter with special jams thing when I’m feeling too poor for the cheese, but butter isn’t really very cheap either haha.

    J: It certainly is! Bless The Flavor Bible for its excellent suggestions. I was going to have walnuts too but was too lazy to crack them! The bread recipe is really simple: https://twospoons.wordpress.com/2010/06/12/cheaters-ciabatta/ – the big holes aren’t always guaranteed if you handle the dough too much, but it’s still ciabatta-like in texture.

    R: Haha, real food always beats photos of food! My partner avoided the figs but was quietly wooed with the honey/gorgonzola combo, which is a step in the right direction given his “sweet and savoury don’t mix” ridiculousness.

  6. August 8, 2011 3:38 pm

    Ive never entertained putting honeycomb on my cheese platter. I do love using rich dried fruits tho so it seems like a logical step! But…If its an EXTRA special sunday, the boy gets cheese AND topless :P But no, not out in the sun as suggested

  7. August 8, 2011 5:14 pm

    hahahaha. nice one. i love honey with cheese too. not so much gorgonzola or any blue cheeses thoug, sorry i still cannot get myself to like it haha.

  8. August 8, 2011 9:33 pm

    That bread looks so good. I have some fresh yeast I have to use up, so breadmaking is on the horizon! This looks like the perfect picnic too for the next sunny Sunday that pops up… :)

  9. August 8, 2011 10:18 pm

    K: Yes I had always had a bit of trouble with the idea of honeycomb (all that wax!), but you don’t notice it at all when eaten with crusty bread!

    S: I hear ya…To be honest it took me a long time to even try gorgonzola. I’m still not mad about the blue bits but I can appreciate it since the white bits redeem it.

    M: I really should try fresh yeast, it’s not like I don’t use much of the stuff. It just seems more intimidating somehow >.< Phew I'm not sure I'd picnic in Christchurch anytime too soon, but yes, this certainly would make for a nice picnic once the weather warms up a little.

  10. August 14, 2011 6:02 pm

    Gorgonzola & honey…one of life’s wonderful combinations. Walnuts make for a good addition too :) I love these kind of indoor picnics, such a treat :)

  11. August 14, 2011 8:19 pm

    M: Yes walnuts are great, I was too lazy to crack the ones I have though heh. Am hoping for snow so we can have an indoor picnic tomorrow…have got unsalted anchovies preserved in lemon & olive oil from Med Foods…they keep tempting me every time I open the fridge!

Stir the pot with a comment

