Skip to content

Unbelievably easy honey & vanilla “ice cream”

April 17, 2012

I call this “ice cream” because this is so rich that you’d never want to eat a whole bowlful of this (not even the cupful pictured…but the cup was too pretty with the roses that I couldn’t resist). However, it is handy as an addition to desserts – like that scoop of ice cream you really don’t need with your favourite crumble, or that dollop of whipped cream to go with a tart fruit pie/crumble. Rather perfect for Autumn fruit things coming out at the moment, including any cakes that didn’t go as awesomely as planned (sigh, can’t always be brilliant). Also, this doesn’t need an ice cream maker, nor does it require ANY stirring after being chucked in the freezer.

It is still super soft, fluffy and smooth, like ice cream should be – not icicle-laden or heavy at all. It’s also a tad better for you as it’s made with no refined sugar, but it’s also tastier for it. Use raw honey and this could even be a health food! Kidding.

I’d also recommend playing around with different flavours. I used vanilla extract (which is basically vodka + vanilla bean), but cointreau or limoncello would be lovely too, or even Tia Maria. Alcohol helps keep this soft. You can make your own real extracts too, and it’s actually fairly easy – check out Pastry Pal’s awesome guide. You could also drizzle through some tart fruit preserves (since this is fairly sweet already) – unsweetened compote for example. Now that I think about it, a rhubarb version of this would be pretty amazing. EDIT: Freeze-dried fruit (or the fruit powder) sprinkled on top would be pretty rad too – check out Alessandra’s NZ giveaway for some that’s made in New Zealand!

…and just in case you were already thinking it, yes, this is basically really fantastic frozen whipped cream. However it is much nicer than anything you’ll ever get out of a can!

Thanks to Stone Soup & Meg Kat for inspiring this :)

Honey & vanilla “ice cream”

makes about 1L

  • 300ml whipping cream
  • 140g very solid honey (I used J Friend & Co.’s viper’s bugloss honey)
  • 20ml (1 Tbspn + 1 tsp) real vanilla extract (or liqueur of choice)
  • 70g (about 1/3c) unsweetened yogurt (I used Clearwater’s pot set yogurt)*
* EDIT: should still work without this too, but at the time was trying to make it a little lighter

Place honey, vanilla and yogurt in a bowl, and place that bowl in another larger bowl of hot water.

Meanwhile, whip cream until soft droopy peaks form and keep their shape when dropped back onto the mixture when you lift the mixer or whisk out.

Stir honey until the yogurt is incorporated. Fold through the cream with a fork or spatula, until just incorporated. Scrape into a container and freeze overnight.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2012 1:48 am

    Just bought an ice cream maker and want to make ice cream with honey instead of refined sugar. I like this recipe for “ice cream”, so simple and you are right, it would be a wonderful side with pie or crumble.

  2. Jean-François permalink
    April 18, 2012 5:52 am

    Decadent (and no stirring) – will definitely be giving this a try.

  3. April 18, 2012 9:14 am

    Gorgeous! Looks delish =D

  4. April 18, 2012 11:03 am

    Ju: It definitely has a strong flavour too, but just have to remember it is sweeter than regular sugar (by about 25-50%). Had to crank out the calculator the first time I made a .7 batch of this >.<

    JF: I can imagine you doing a candied citrus peel version or something to make sure those peels don't go to waste :D

    7: Thanks!

  5. April 18, 2012 12:49 pm

    Gorgeous!

  6. April 18, 2012 2:10 pm

    I would eat this. And your roses are beautiful.

  7. April 18, 2012 6:23 pm

    The photo instantly sold me! Will have a try this weekend- looks so easy.

  8. April 19, 2012 6:45 am

    where did u get the teacup? it’s gorgeous!

  9. April 19, 2012 10:10 am

    D: My mum bought it at a garage sale, but the plate got broken :( I think I’ve seen it at a few department stores though, and maybe even the Warehouse!

  10. peasepudding permalink
    April 19, 2012 10:16 pm

    Perfect and simple made from honey and vanilla, no need for anything else

  11. April 20, 2012 9:31 am

    This sounds Yum, you should enter it for Sweet NZ, this month’s host is Frances, info here
    http://bakeclub.yolasite.com/index/bake-club-hosts-april-sweet-new-zealand-

    btw, would you like to host a month? June is still available, if you like :-)
    Let me know.

    Ciao
    Alessandra
    http://alessandrazecchini.blogspot.co.nz/

    • April 20, 2012 12:16 pm

      Thanks Alessandra, will start re-submitting and maybe host when things have calmed down a bit for me

  12. Jean-François permalink
    April 20, 2012 11:50 am

    All our peels go straight to the freezer, so there are always plenty on hand. Good idea. :)

  13. April 20, 2012 11:54 am

    P: Good to know thanks!

  14. April 23, 2012 7:13 pm

    Looks yummy and sounds easy. I bought an ice cream maker – the cheap one and its bust already. Nexst time it will need to be the $200 version

  15. April 23, 2012 7:20 pm

    Zo, I have a give away on my blog that may interests you :-)

    info here
    http://alessandrazecchini.blogspot.co.nz/2012/04/give-away-to-new-zealand-readers-fresh.html

    ciao
    Alessandra

    • April 23, 2012 9:35 pm

      Yum thanks for the heads up Alessandra. I’ve tried the strawberry powder I think, and loved it.

  16. April 26, 2012 12:10 pm

    I have just nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award: http://aftertasteblog.wordpress.com/2012/04/25/the-versatile-blogger-award/

  17. April 26, 2012 1:35 pm

    AT: Aww, thanks :) Things are a bit hectic at the moment so apologies if I don’t get around to it, but am honoured nonetheless!

  18. February 14, 2013 10:00 pm

    Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular post!

    It is the little changes that make the greatest changes.
    Thanks for sharing!

  19. March 22, 2013 8:23 pm

    My partner and I stumbled over here from a different website and thought
    I might check things out. I like what I see so now i
    am following you. Look forward to looking at your web page repeatedly.

  20. April 16, 2013 7:05 pm

    My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find a lot of your
    post’s to be exactly I’m looking for. Do you offer guest writers to write content available for you?
    I wouldn’t mind producing a post or elaborating on a number of the subjects you write about here. Again, awesome weblog!

  21. May 9, 2013 5:16 pm

    Hi everyone, it’s my first pay a quick visit at this website, and article is in fact fruitful designed for me, keep up posting these articles.

  22. May 30, 2013 6:08 pm

    After going over a handful of the blog posts on your website, I seriously appreciate
    your way of blogging. I book marked it to my
    bookmark webpage list and will be checking back in the near future.
    Please visit my web site too and let me know how you feel.

  23. June 14, 2013 10:08 am

    Unquestionably imagine that which you said. Your favourite justification appeared
    to be on the web the simplest thing to take into account of.
    I say to you, I certainly get irked whilst people think about concerns that they plainly do not understand about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the highest and defined out the whole
    thing without having side effect , people can take a signal.
    Will likely be again to get more. Thank you

Trackbacks

  1. Raspberry Ice Cream « muncho mom

Stir the pot with a comment

