Skip to content

Fresh from the city

June 17, 2012

Clockwise from left: parsley, baby mizuna, warrigal greens, rocket, cherry tomatoes, shaved carrot.

Being transplanted from quiet, familiar Christchurch to the concrete jungle of Sydney has done my head in a little, but this weekend I really feel like I managed to regain a bit of sanity. I picked up a beautiful little patch of baby mizuna, the sweetest sprayfree cherry tomatoes (which are still growing here!), and crunchy carrots at the farmers market. Then I joined my nearest community garden, where I picked some parsley, warrigal greens and rocket in the sunshine…bliss. I learnt a few new gardening tips on my first visit too – it’s great to learn from a group! The eucalyptus twigs that we were clearing from the garden beds are also making a nice little decorative feature on our eating table. A while back we visited the Pyrmont grower’s market, where I picked up some organic gem lettuce that was so fresh it stayed super crisp all week, and made a perfect pair with this herb and yogurt dressing.

The City of Sydney’s green villages website has been pretty great (doesn’t hurt that it’s designed to be pleasing to the eye!), and I’m looking forward to attending some more of the workshops they have on offer. I’m all keen to start a wormfarm to keep our trash less smelly and for free fertiliser! Seems a lot more fun than composting :D

Discovering the fresh food available near us in the middle of the city is a bit of a relief after all the supermarket shopping we’ve been doing. Not to say I don’t have some favourite things I stock up on at Coles, but the produce is pretty much typical supermarket stuff.

Some promising recipes will be coming up…I’ve finally got a photography set up sorted, so the backlog of deliciousness should start unleashing itself :)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2012 5:36 pm

    Haha you are so after my own heart.. desiring a worm farm, local produce, less mass-produced crap, a hand picked green or two. The things we dream of having on our farmlet in the future huh! Bring on the photos and recipes Zo – I need some more inspiration! Hopefully the seasonal issue (being in the Northern Hem all of a sudden) doesn’t get in the way of me making pretty much most of your recipes straight after you post them..

  2. June 18, 2012 12:20 am

    Loving all those bright colors – glad you found some good fresh veg scattered betwixt the concrete towers. Looking forward to that backlog of yum.

  3. June 18, 2012 11:05 am

    Beautiful!

  4. June 18, 2012 8:35 pm

    Wow, you really are in the heart of the city. I fetched up in Ultimo 32 years ago and escaped to Northern New South Wales quite soon after. there was NOTHING there then even the nearest supermarket was miles away. Happy happy happy to be on Waiheke Island now. Go well!

  5. June 23, 2012 11:33 am

    C: Yay, I’m glad someone appreciated this post :D I always feel like fresh ingredients deserve a bit of a story sometimes, and a bit of love. As for the seasons issue, that what bookmarks are for!

    J: Yes, and I discovered that Paddy’s market, which is more of an Asian-style produce market, may actually source lots locally too, but it’s about half the price of the farmers’ market produce…Must investigate!

    R: Thanks :)

    Ro: Aww, I have a friend on Waiheke and he just wants to get to a larger city (to be fair he’s a journalist…), but I envy him often! So much amazing food to be had! Although I hear it can also be pretty pricey.

  6. Audrey permalink
    June 30, 2012 10:48 pm

    I recently came across your blog and LOVE your recipes! I have just returned to NZ after 12 years in Sydney so I also enjoy hearing about your experiences there. I read about a new place called The Grounds of Alexandria which sounds so appealing and am interested in your thoughts on this great concept. I attach a link if you think it would be of interest: http://www.smh.com.au/entertainment/restaurants-and-bars/industrial-evolution-20120225-1tunl.html

  7. July 1, 2012 12:09 am

    A: Holy heck, what a small world, I was there today at an urban gardening workshop! It is so gorgeous, and the garden is really wonderful. Will go back for a worm farming workshop in a few weeks, feel like I’m stalking the City of Sydney workshops haha. Thank you for the encouragement.

  8. July 10, 2012 3:22 pm

    Farmers’ Markets are the best and your produce is beautiful: look forward to hearing more about it.

Stir the pot with a comment

