Skip to content

Recipe for natural haircare

September 24, 2012

Don’t worry foodies, this isn’t about to turn into a beauty blog, but I’m quite excited about posting my new hair cleaning & conditioning routine, because as a fellow food-lover, you’re quite likely to have these two ingredients. It’s also incredibly easy, although my instructions are long and detailed because it’s quite different to just using regular shampoo and conditioner, and I’d rather you get it right and love it the first time! Even if your pantry is bare, all you need is baking soda (which has heaps of uses for natural cleaning), and coconut oil, which is not only great in place of butter for a lot of baked goods, but also makes a wonderful smelling massage oil and moisturiser for your body. Coconut oil might look pricey, but you’ll only be using a tiny amount on your body (1/8 tsp for short hair).

I also love how my hair (and scalp) feels after I’ve massaged through the coconut oil to leave in, AND it smells delicious too. I used to do an apple cider vinegar rinse, but personally I’m not a fan of the smell of vinegar, so the coconut oil provided a welcome fragrance that didn’t hang around too long and clash with whatever perfume I decided on the next day. How strong the coconut smell is seems to really depend on the brand though – for example, Spiral doesn’t smell like coconut much, but Banaban really does. It might be worth asking someone at the store.

The only drawback is that you need to wait a few days at least for the baking soda shampoo to become ready for use – but after that you’re smooth sailing.

Baking soda “shampoo”

NOTE: A kind commenter mentioned this will strip the colour from dyed hair – so be warned! Dissolve about 2 tsp baking soda per cup of water in a plastic bottle with a screwtop lid. Let sit for at about a week or until you can’t see any white powder. Do two bottles once you’ve decided you’re keen on it so you can rotate them once you finish the first bottle and never run out. I’d recommend a 300ml bottle for short hair.

To use: wet your hair, unscrew the bottle 3/4 of the way, and squeeze the bottle over your hair, keeping your thumb on the lid to prevent it falling off. Massage it through until all your hair feels slightly slippery. It won’t foam up. Rinse thoroughly, and once out of the shower/bath, pat dry/twist it up in a towel – it can still be damp for the conditioning. You never want to rub your hair aggressively at this point (freshly cleaned hair is very fragile).

Coconut oil leave in “conditioner”

Rub about 1/8 tsp (for short hair) all over your hands like you’re moisturising them, then give yourself a nice scalp massage. It’s better to use less than too much (otherwise it’s like you’ve un-washed your hair). You can always massage through a bit more once dry if you feel like your hair doesn’t feel loved enough.

Done! Now it’s your turn to share your natural cleaning secrets :)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. mimi permalink
    September 25, 2012 4:17 am

    FYI: You should never use baking soda on colored hair. It strips the color off your hair. Fine to use on bleached hair though.

  2. September 25, 2012 8:53 am

    I love finding “no ‘poo” compadres! (: I recently splurged on some argan oil, which has a similarly lovely conditioning effect on the ends of my long hair.

  3. September 25, 2012 11:26 am

    M: Wow, thanks for that, will edit the post now to make sure people know.

    V: Yes I loved my Moroccan oil but it is a tad pricier…also I go crazy for the smell of coconut :)

  4. September 25, 2012 2:51 pm

    Love coconut oil for a conditioner, and it smells like I’m on vacation!

  5. September 25, 2012 5:44 pm

    Wow, surprisingly I never knew this.These sound like great products, I’ll have to check them out. Thanks for sharing!

  6. October 1, 2012 9:43 am

    I used this “shampoo” on my hair exclusively for about 3-4 months and I loved it. It doesn’t strip moisture from my hair but the oily gunk dissolves and leaves the scalp feeling wonderful. Why do you mix it up beforehand? I always mixed it right before use.

  7. October 1, 2012 4:04 pm

    K: Yeah, it’s so great as a very weak natural sunscreen too – smells and feels much nicer!

    A: No problem – good luck!

    Ke: Just so it’s easier to apply and use really. Plus once dissolved there’s a guarantee that you won’t have any graininess. I also read on another natural cleaning blog from someone who had experimented and they just much preferred having it pre-dissolved and ready to go – unfortunately can’t remember which blog!

  8. October 30, 2012 7:20 pm

    Thanks for the tip, I’ve recently started using coconut oil as a moisturizer, and will try your recipe :)

Stir the pot with a comment

