Skip to content

Super powers for breakfast

August 3, 2012

With all the hub-bub of moving country, into a new apartment, and into my first full time grown up job, I have not started drinking coffee, or gotten sick once. If that isn’t an indicator of super powers, I don’t know what is. My secret weapon? I found amaranth flakes* and started putting a little in a lazy bircher muesli to have each morning. The result is creamy, nutty, sweet and tangy. I wouldn’t go so far as to say mouthwatering or anything (to be honest I’ve never had a “mouthwatering” muesli), but if your diet tends to be low in iron or protein and you’re looking for a quick, simple and healthy regular breakfast regimen, this could be worth a try. It’s great for alleviating guilt if you, on occasion, eat fries as lunch/dinner. Not that I do that…

I’d love to hear your breakfast secrets too by the way… do you try to have a healthy breakfast to justify bad habits during the day or are you the opposite?

In case you’ve never heard of them before, amaranth flakes are awesome because:

  • They almost dissolve into your porridge, leaving it creamy (rather than being beady)
  • They take less time to cook
  • They are a good source of iron
  • They are a good source of complete protein
  • They taste nice and toasty in flavour

The only drawback is that they can be difficult to find, even at health food stores (I initially found them at Wholesome in Sydney). However my local (can’t seem to find a website for them) started carrying them after I mentioned how awesome they were, so it’s worth a shot with yours too!

I did a little research and it looks like boiled amaranth flakes is one of the best and easiest ways to consume this amazing little seed, because there are inhibitors in raw amaranth (preventing absorption of some nutrients) and in flour form it prevents bread from rising as well.

How to get super powers for breakfast

Basically, I microwave the amaranth flakes and plenty of water after dinner in a bowl (leave plenty of room for the boiling amaranth or it will overflow). Then when it’s cool (because I want to keep the vitamins alive), I add some rolled oats, LSA, and top up with juice. If I feel like it, I’ll add a little yogurt in there too. Then I stir it up, leave in the fridge overnight, and voila. Breakfast is straight from the fridge the next morning. If I forget to do the amaranth after dinner, I microwave it in the morning and mix it into the cold overnight soaked oats.

The only thing that complicates things is my fussiness about ingredients, particularly the LSA and juice.

LSA: when you sniff your LSA, it shouldn’t make you recoil. Good LSA will usually be stored in a fridge or near one. A lot of LSA (like with walnuts) is sold rancid, even though the best before date suggests otherwise, so find your favourite place, and give them a hug for storing the stuff properly.

Juice: I like to use Nudie’s apple juice. On its own it’s average, but it’s sweet and lovely in my muesli. If you’re using a tart juice, you may want to add some raw honey into your muesli, or your sweetener of choice.

Variations:

Just like regular bircher muesli, you can vary this by using different flakes and fruits and additions to prevent your breakfast from getting too boring. I’ve just given the bare bones of what is essentially my lazy bircher with a further nutritional boost.

You could also use flaked quinoa for example in place of amaranth, but oats apparently have a pretty similar nutritional profile, and I much prefer the taste of oats, plus they’re cheaper…but it’s up to you :)

Currently Clickalicious

Fisherman’s pie with cauliflower & kumara potato top @ Pease Pudding

Creamy beetroot pasta @ Hungry & Frozen

Peach, tomato and mozzarella crostini @ Joy the Baker

Horseradish dill potato salad @ Food 52

Lettuce wraps with ginger, carrot and shredded tofu @ Veggie Num Num

8 Comments leave one →
  1. peasepudding permalink
    August 3, 2012 8:52 pm

    My new thing is porridge with coconut sugar and yoghurt for breakfast, does that cancel out the large flat white I drank on the journey to work? Hope Sydney is looking after you, I’m not ba till Sept.

  2. August 3, 2012 11:39 pm

    In the summer I usually eat polenta cooked in milk with fresh peaches or berries and a few almonds: protein, fiber, whole grains and fresh fruit. In the winter I eat oats cooked in milk with various fruits or compotes and nuts, with occasional departures for French toast, cornmeal pancakes, etc.

  3. August 4, 2012 9:12 pm

    I’m a big fan of bircher muesli too (will be looking for amaranth on my next trip to the grocery store) – and the other quick breakfast we do is soy milk smoothies (usually with whatever fruit we have on hand, and frozen banana, which we always have on hand). Weekends I make eggs or buttermilk pancakes … and when I need that satisfying crunch to start the day, Bonnie Lee’s granola (which I just blogged about – seems a few of us have breakfast on the brain) is the way to go. I’m a big fan of breakfast.

  4. August 5, 2012 3:38 am

    Hi, just came across your blog and love the look of your recipes! I’ve been trying to get hold of amaranth for a while but the only place I can find it is extortionate…
    I can recommend another muesli mix though – I make mine with organic oats, rye flakes, linseeds, pumpkin and sunflower seeds, unsweetened coconut and whatever dried fruit is in the house – I prefer the stuff that’s dried with no sugar or preservatives though. I soak it in milk for half an hour (longer if I can be bothered) before breakfast and it’s really good! Much better than the expensive ready-made stuff I used to get, and I have to admit I was surprised :) Good quality oats make a big difference.

  5. August 5, 2012 10:50 am

    Will look out for amaranth to add to my list of grain-must-tries. Oats!! Raw rolled oats every morning, topped with sultanas, a sprinkle of shredded coconut, diced granny smith apple, dollops of natural yoghurt and milk. My parents have had this exact breakfast dish for 30 years, they bought me up on it, my husband is addicted and ours kids ARE GOING TO love it :P Your superpower breakfast sounds incredible too!

  6. August 5, 2012 8:02 pm

    This sounds like a new breakfast to try. Where do you think you’d get amaranth flakes in chch? ;)
    I love a creamy spiced apple porridge… Using almond milk with cinnamon and mixed spice (the recipe is on my blog if you want to try)

  7. leftylovinglife permalink
    August 10, 2012 4:14 am

    My breakfast go-to is smoothies. Frozen bananas, almondmilk, and sometimes i even put some oats in it, too. Keeps me going strong til lunch!

  8. November 11, 2012 9:22 pm

    My jucier is my boyfriend. I can’t start my morning without a fresh juice. I’ve also been eating Chia seeds with almond milk. It’s delicious and full of omega-3 and antioxidants!

Stir the pot with a comment