Skip to content

Teaser shots of Jonny Schwass cooking at Christchurch Farmers’ Market

September 17, 2011

Ah, the life of a foodie. From 9am-noon today, I was taken on a whirlwind trip around the market with Jonny, got to meet fellow blogger, food stylist and photographer Bron Marshall (squee!), tasted delicious market-sourced goodies cooked up by Jonny, his assistant nephew, and Market VIP (also budding chef) Alex. UPDATE: See my full guest post at the Outstanding blog.

Alex checkin out the special Market VIP platter made up for him and his Mum – bless him though, I hear he generously shared his bounty with the crowd!

Jonny in action with the most beautiful chef’s knife I’ve ever laid eyes on (made locally too!). You can buy these from Peter Lorimer or through Sabato.

Jonny’s personal stash of dehydrated bacon

To check out my full guest post from the day, keep an eye out on the official Out Standing in their Fields blog! I’ll update with a link to the post when it’s up, but feel free to check out the other videos from Farmers’ Market cooking demos from the last few weeks.

What this is about: a New Zealand wide Farmers’ Market festival, featuring a series of cooking demonstrations by top kiwi chefs that use the best of regional seasonal produce. The roadshow kicked off alongside the Rugby World Cup to show the world what real New Zealand food and cooking is about, and how amazing our unique artisan producers and growers are!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. peasepudding permalink
    September 18, 2011 7:18 am

    Looks like a fun daybout Zo, I love those knives too, where they Japanese?

  2. September 18, 2011 9:05 am

    Great shots Zo! Jonny is such an inspiration! Super getting to meet and spend the day with you too, can’t wait to do it again! xo

  3. September 18, 2011 10:13 am

    That knife is crazy! Sounds like an awesome day!

  4. September 18, 2011 12:47 pm

    P: It really is! I’ve put up a link to the knives, they are made by a Peter Lorimer in Christchurch, but his knives are available at Sabato – Jonny loves them! Am really keen for one now :D

    B: Right back at ya! See you at the Farmers’ Market sometime in the next few weeks – will be awesome to meet Becs and chat over her posh porridge!

    R: Isn’t it? The handle can be made out of bone too.

    Peter’s website is at http://www.lorimer.co.nz/

  5. September 19, 2011 9:31 pm

    I am coming to Chch in October with my daughter, maybe we should do a demo at the market :-)

  6. September 19, 2011 10:49 pm

    A: That would be awesome!!!! I’ll pass the email address of the market manager to you so you guys can chat about it. She’s a bit busy at the moment with Feast of Canterbury but it’s worth planting the seed early as it were :)

  7. Bunny Eats Design permalink
    September 20, 2011 2:41 pm

    Wow! What a knife! Sabato is just around the corner from me so might have to have a nosey.

    Can’t wait until the Auckland demos.

  8. September 20, 2011 3:21 pm

    B: I know, I’m really keen on getting one but they are definitely an investment (a worthwhile one though of course!). I think his must have been custom made, because the ones on Sabato don’t look like they have that gorgeous pattern on.

  9. September 20, 2011 11:25 pm

    Hi Zo, thanks for stopping by. I have been so out of touch with everyone, so it is lovely to get back into the swing of things, and settle down to some kind of “normal” again. That knife looks amazing.
    Sue xo

  10. September 21, 2011 8:34 pm

    That knife! So beautiful. And dehydrated bacon. Oh my. Looks like a really cool day :)

  11. October 27, 2011 9:41 am

    Great image of the Damascus knife. I would love to use (if I am allowed ;) My knife workshop is now in Omakau in sunny Central Otago.

Stir the pot with a comment